House of the Dragon: Every dragon, listed

House of the Dragon
(Image credit: HBO)

House of the Dragon season 2 is finally here, and it's brought the heat as the Dance of the Dragons gets into full swing. It looks like we can expect plenty of fire-breathing action as the second season continues, too. 

Below, we've rounded up every single dragon in House of the Dragon season 2, with details on what they were up to in season 1 and if they've been spotted yet in the new installment. We've also got the lowdown on the creatures that have been mentioned but haven't yet been seen. 

So, for the ultimate guide to the show's dragons, look no further – but be warned that there are spoilers below for House of the Dragon seasons 1 and 2. 

How many dragons are there in House of the Dragon? 

House of the Dragon

(Image credit: HBO)

As of House of the Dragon season 2, there are 16 dragons in House of the Dragon: Syrax, Caraxes, Vhagar, Meleys, Seasmoke, Vermax, Arrax, and Vermithor. Tyraxes, Moondancer, Sunfyre, Dreamfyre, Silverwing, and three wild dragons have also been mentioned. You can find out more about each dragon, including who their rider is, below.

Every dragon in House of the Dragon, listed


Emma D'Arcy in House of the Dragon

(Image credit: HBO)

Syrax is Rhaenyra Targaryen's dragon. We see her riding Syrax to Dragonstone in season 1, episode 2 to confront Daemon, and it's likely we'll see the two of them fly into battle together once the Dance of the Dragons really kicks off. Syrax was most recently seen in season 1, episode 10, lurking behind behind Otto and the green soldiers.

We most recently saw Syrax take Rhaenyra to Lucerys's body in the season 2 premiere, in a heart-wrenching scene. 


Matt Smith in House of the Dragon

(Image credit: HBO)

Caraxes is Daemon Targaryen's dragon. We see the pair fly into battle together against the Triarchy in season 1, episode 3, and he flies together with his then-wife Laena and her dragon Vhagar in season 1, episode 6. Caraxes is also on hand in season 1, episode 10 to intimidate some of the Kingsguard. 

We haven't seen Caraxes in season 2 just yet, but Daemon is anxious to fly out and challenge Aemond soon, so watch this space. 


Vhagar in House of the Dragon

(Image credit: HBO)

Vhagar is the oldest – and largest – living dragon in Westeros. Formerly the late Laena Velaryon's dragon, she is now ridden by Aemond Targaryen. After Laena's funeral in season 1, episode 7, Aemond claims Vhagar as his own. He fights with Laena's daughters, Baela and Rhaena, who believe the dragon to be theirs, and Aemond loses his eye in the process.  Vhagar also kills Rhaenyra's son Lucerys and his dragon Arrax over Storm's End in the season 1 finale. 

As of season 2, she's guarding King's Landing from Team Black's dragons. She's also responsible for taking down Meleys and Rhaenys in the battle of Rook's Rest, seen in season 2, episode 4. A blast of her fire at Aemond's command is also responsible for downing Aegon and Sunfyre


Eve Best in House of the Dragon

(Image credit: HBO)

Meleys is Rhaenys Targaryen's dragon. She's nicknamed the Red Queen, which is fitting for Rhaenys's own moniker the Queen Who Never Was. The pair cause havoc during Aegon's coronation in season 1, episode 9 when they burst into the dragon pit to send a clear message to Alicent – Rhaenys' loyalties lie with Rhaenrya. By the end of the finale, and as of season 2, Rhaenys and Meleys are patrolling the Stepstones. We see Meleys in the season 2 premiere when Rhaenys returns from one such patrol. 

Sadly, in episode 4 of season 2, Meleys is killed by Vhagar. When Meleys falls from the sky, Rhaenys is also killed. RIP to two queens. 


House of the Dragon

(Image credit: HBO)

Dreamfyre is the dragon who laid the egg stolen by Daemon in season 1, episode 2 and she's also the dragon who nearly burns Aemond when he goes into he dragon pit in season 1, episode 6 after being teased by his brother and cousins. She's ridden by Helaena. 


Laenor Velaryon in House of the Dragon

(Image credit: HBO)

Seasmoke is Laenor Velaryon's dragon, and we see them ride into battle against the Triarchy in the Stepstones during season 1, episode 3. Seasmoke doesn't currently have a rider after Laenor faked his death in season 1, episode 7. 


Harry Collett in House of the Dragon

(Image credit: HBO)

Vermax is Jacaerys Velaryon's dragon. He hatched from an egg placed in Jace's cradle when he was a baby, so the pair have bonded since infancy. We see Jace learning to train the dragon in season 1, episode 6. Vermax took Jacaerys to the Wall to visit Cregan Stark


Lucerys in House of the Dragon episode 10

(Image credit: HBO)

Arrax belongs to Lucerys Velaryon, Rhaenyra's son and Jace's younger brother. Both Arrax and Luke are killed by Vhagar and Aemond over Storm's End in the season 1 finale. 


House of the Dragon episode 6

(Image credit: HBO)

Tyraxes is ridden by Joffrey, Rhaenyra's young son. The dragon hasn't yet been introduced in the show, but Daemon mentions him in season 1, episode 10. 


House of the Dragon episode 10

(Image credit: HBO)

This dragon is ridden by Baela Targaryen, first mentioned in season 1, episode 10. She's seen briefly in season 2, episode 3, when Baela is patrolling and catches sight of Criston Cole and Gwayne Hightower. 


House of the Dragon

(Image credit: HBO)

Aegon Targaryen's dragon is first mentioned in season 1, episode 6. He teases his younger brother Aemond for not having a dragon of his own, which leads him to steal Vhagar for himself. 

Aegon and Sunfyre take to the skies unexpectedly in season 2, episode 4 at Rook's Rest. Aemond and Vhagar send them crashing to the ground (accidentally or not, it's hard to tell) and they're left seriously injured. 


House of the Dragon episode 10 preview

(Image credit: HBO)

Also known as the Bronze Fury, Vermithor once belonged to King Jahaerys, Rhaenrya's great-grandfather and King Viserys' predecessor. We see Daemon attempting to tame him in season 1, episode 10 – he hasn't had a rider since Jaehaerys' death and has instead remained in his lair on Dragonstone. 

Unclaimed dragons

House of the Dragon episode 1

(Image credit: HBO)

Daemon reveals in the season 1 finale that there are three unclaimed, wild dragons who nest on Dragonstone. Thanks to Fire & Blood, we know their names are the Cannibal, Grey Ghost, and Sheepstealer. There's one more unclaimed dragon, too, named Silverwing.

Keep up to date on House of the Dragon with our guides on: 

Entertainment Writer

I’m an Entertainment Writer here at GamesRadar+, covering everything film and TV-related across the Total Film and SFX sections. I help bring you all the latest news and also the occasional feature too. I’ve previously written for publications like HuffPost and i-D after getting my NCTJ Diploma in Multimedia Journalism. 

With contributions from